Tuesday, August 11, 2020

Kathy Lawler & Ian Summerhayes Memorial Scholarships

The Sharon Soccer Association (SSA) proudly awards two scholarships:  the Kathy M. Lawler Scholarship and the Ian Summerhayes Memorial Scholarship. The SSA awards the scholarships each year to recognize the high school senior(s) (or college freshman) who best exemplifies the ideals of competitive effort, good sportsmanship, team spirit, and community involvement along with volunteering to serve the needs of the SSA. The awards are intended to honor the memory of two former SSA board members: Kathy M. Lawler, who served for many years as the Registrar of the SSA, and Ian Summerhayes, who was a long-time coach and board member. A candidate for the SSA’s annual scholarship(s) must be:

1. A resident of Sharon.

2.  A graduating high school senior (or college freshman), pursuing post-secondary education.
3. A positive example of competitive effort, good sportsmanship, and team spirit.
4. A significant contributor to SSA’s youth soccer program, above and beyond any participation as a player. These contributions must have been for a minimum of four SSA seasons.

The candidate’s contribution may have involved coaching, fund-raising, or any other activities important to the success of the SSA’s youth soccer programs. These contributions must have been on a non-compensated, volunteer basis. The award is not based on soccer-playing ability. It is also not necessary that the candidate be a product of SSA’s “traveling” soccer program, provided that he/she meets the criteria listed above.

Scholarship candidates may be presented to the Association either by application or by nomination. A candidate’s application must include the seasons the candidate volunteered for the SSA and the job(s) the candidate performed. Letter Applications/Nominations must be post-marked on or before April 8th. The winner(s) of the annual scholarship(s) will be determined by a majority vote of the Board of Directors of the SSA. A scholarship will not be awarded in a year when no well-qualified candidates are presented.

Mail your letter application/nomination to: President, Sharon Soccer Association, P.O. Box 393, Sharon, MA 02067.


South Shore Soccer League Skip Gorman Memorial Scholarship

The South Shore Soccer League will offer scholarships named in honor of Past President Skip Gorman to both a male and female soccer player extending their education beyond High School. High School seniors who will be entering a secondary education program full time in the fall of next year are eligible to apply for this scholarship. Details and the application for these scholarships can be found here.

Massachusetts Youth Soccer College Scholarship

Each year MYSA gives two deserving Mass Youth Soccer members a $1,000 college scholarship. All they need to do is to write a 500 word essay on the effect that soccer has had in their life, answer some questions as to their academics, sports and community service, and to have been a Mass Youth Soccer member for at least the last 2 years. Deadline for applying is May 1, 2013. Details and the application for these scholarships can be found here.

2015 Kathy Lawler and Ian Summerhayes Scholarship Recipient

Mary Griffin, Rose Warren, and Samantha Ferris

Ian Summerhayes Scholarship Recipients

2016: Daniel Goodman

2015: Rose Warren

2014: Madison Tippett

2013: David Goodman

2012: Rosie Tootell

2011: Candice Lavien

Kathy Lawler Scholarship Recipients

Daniel Bender
Brenna Pitman
Abigail Roseman
Mary Griffin
Samantha Ferris
Madison Tippett 
Kevin Bartas
Ian Beach
Sarah Cotton 
Rosie Tootell
Stephanie Bartas
Mary Gillen
Victoria Ruzzo
Garrett Sullivan
Erica Beach
Ben Yudysky
Ben Posnick
Michelle Croteau
Rachel DeRose
Stephen Gage
T.J. Gillen
Jason Cope
Nate Seiberling
Jenna Silver
Daniel Bloom
Jeremy Cope
Davis Hanold
Kylee DeCoste 
Erika Synder
Sissela Tucker
Danielle Costello 
Kelly Summerhayes
Rachel Bloom
Ari Goldscheider